1. Home
  2. Books
  3. Picture Book

Picture Book

Oona

Oona

Publisher Description This comical and heartfelt picture book is a winning celebration of invention, creativity, and friendship. With gorgeous underwater scenes and a crowd-pleasing tale, this is one little mermaid who is here to make a splash!  New York...

We Are Water Protectors

We Are Water Protectors

Publishers Description Winner oF the 2021 Caldecott Medal Inspired by the many Indigenous-led movements across North America, We Are Water Protectors issues an urgent rallying cry to safeguard the Earth’s water from harm and corruption—a bold and lyrical picture book...

Change Sings

Change Sings

Publisher Description A lyrical picture book debut from inaugural National Youth Poet Laureate Amanda Gorman and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long “I can hear change humming In its loudest, proudest song. I don’t fear change coming, And so I sing...

Stella’s Stellar Hair

Stella’s Stellar Hair

Publisher Description Black girl magic takes the solar system in Stella's Stellar Hair, a celebration of hair, family, and self-love from debut author-illustrator Yesenia Moises! It’s the day of the Big Star Little Gala, and Stella's hair just isn't acting right!...

Freedom Soup

Freedom Soup

Publisher Description Join the celebration in the kitchen as a family makes their traditional New Year’s soup — and shares the story of how Haitian independence came to be. The shake-shake of maracas vibrates down to my toes. Ti Gran’s feet tap-tap to the rhythm....

Seven Golden Rings

Seven Golden Rings

Publisher Description In this clever, convivial picture book, an Indian boy untangles a mathematical conundrum to win a place at the Rajah's court. In ancient India, a boy named Bhagat travels to the Rajah's city, hoping to ensure his family's prosperity by winning a...

Sumo Joe

Sumo Joe

Publisher Description In this sweet and funny story, Sumo Joe and his friends enjoy pretending to be sumo wrestlers. But when his little sister wants to join their boy-only game, what should Sumo Joe do? On Saturday mornings, Sumo Joe is a gentle big brother to his...

I Am Smart, I Am Blessed, I Can Do Anything!

I Am Smart, I Am Blessed, I Can Do Anything!

Publisher Description Based on a viral video comes the story of one boy’s positive energy and how a sunny outlook can turn everything around. It’s a new day and Ayaan has woken up on the wrong side of the bed, where nothing feels quite right. What if he doesn’t know...

Me and Mama

Me and Mama

Publisher Description A Caldecott and Coretta Scott King Honor Book Mama’s love is brighter than the sun, even on the rainiest of days. This celebration of a mother-daughter relationship is perfect for sharing with little ones! On a rainy day when the house smells...

I Am Every Good Thing

I Am Every Good Thing

Publisher Description Winner of the NCTE Charlotte Huck Award! An upbeat, empowering, important picture book from the team that created the award-winning Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut I am a nonstop ball of energy. Powerful and full of light. I am a go-getter. A...

Red Shoes

Red Shoes

Publisher Description Red shoes glowing-- Perched on a pedestal in the shop window as if on a throne. "I want those, Nana," Malika says, as they pass the shop. "We'll see," Nana says with a wink. "Looks like you could use a new pair." Malika is delighted when Nana...

The ABC’s of Black History

The ABC’s of Black History

Publisher Description B is for Beautiful, Brave, and Bright! And for a Book that takes a Bold journey through the alphabet of Black history and culture. Letter by letter, The ABCs of Black History celebrates a story that spans continents and centuries, triumph and...

Bunheads

Bunheads

Publisher Description Instant New York Times bestselling series opener inspired by prima ballerina and author Misty Copeland’s own early experiences in ballet. From prima ballerina and New York Times bestselling author Misty Copeland comes the story of a young Misty,...

Thanking the Moon

Thanking the Moon

Publisher Description This simple, young, and satisfying story follows a Chinese American family as they celebrate the Mid-Autumn Moon Festival. Each member of the family lends a hand as they prepare a moonlit picnic with mooncakes, pomelos, cups of tea, and colorful...

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

Publisher Description A gorgeous picture book that tells a whimsical origin story of the phases of the moon, from award-winning, bestselling author-illustrator Grace Lin Pat, pat, pat… Little Star’s soft feet tiptoed to the Big Mooncake. Little Star loves the...

FRY BREAD: A Native American Family Story

FRY BREAD: A Native American Family Story

Publisher Description Winner of the 2020 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal A 2020 American Indian Youth Literature Picture Book Honor Winner “A wonderful and sweet book . . . Lovely stuff.” —The New York Times Book Review Told in lively and powerful verse by...

Brown Sugar Babe

Brown Sugar Babe

Publisher Description Brown is beautiful. Brown is powerful! “This is the book I want to give to my future daughter.” —Black Nerd Problems Perfect for fans of Hair Love and Antiracist Baby, this lyrically written, stunningly illustrated picture book is a love letter...

Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice

Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice

Publisher Description Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants who would grow up to be the first woman, first Black person, and first South Asian American ever elected Vice President of the United States in this moving picture book biography of...

I Got The Christmas Spirit

I Got The Christmas Spirit

Publisher Description In the same feel-good style of I Got the Rhythm, this exuberant picture book explores the joys of the holiday season, once again illustrated by award-winning artist Frank Morrison. It's the most wonderful time of the year, and a mother and...

A Night Out With Mama

A Night Out With Mama

Publisher Description From Academy Award–nominated actress Quvenzhané Wallis comes a story about glitz, glamour, and the most important thing of all—family. A very talented little girl has a very special night ahead of her. A night where she’ll get to wear a new dress...

The Nutcracker in Harlem

The Nutcracker in Harlem

Publisher Description A Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year! This jazz-inspired reinvention of The Nutcracker is a worthy tribute to the dreamlike wonder and magic of the Christmas season. In this original retelling, set in New York City...

Life Doesn’t Frighten Me

Life Doesn’t Frighten Me

Publisher Description Maya Angelou’s unforgettable poem is matched with the daring art of Jean-Michel Basquiat in this powerful ode to courage Shadows on the wall Noises down the hall Life doesn't frighten me at all Maya Angelou's brave, defiant poem celebrates the...